The Visual Advocate Blog

February 2012 Wallpaper and a Thinktank Photo Streetwalker giveaway!

17 Comments

I have been meaning to get this wallpaper up for a couple of weeks, but have felt more inclined to write about other things. Nevertheless, I finally decided to just bite the bullet, so here it is.

I made this image early one morning in Varanasi, India while I was teaching the NGO staff I was working with to single out simple frames amidst the constant chaos and complexity of places like Varanasi, India. Enjoy!

Be looking for the giveaway of one fabulous Thinktank Photo Streetwalker backpack in the next week or so!

Also I wanted to let you know that in the next week-and-a-half, I will be giving away a Thinktank Photo Streetwalker backpack to one lucky and random winner thanks to my great friends at Thinktank Photo!

If you want to be included in this random giveaway, leave a comment on this post sometime over the next week-and-a-half and tell me why you think you deserve this stellar bag.

Good luck yall!

Author: The Visual Advocate

Joe Murray, The Visual Advocate, is a Humanitarian and Cultural photographer based in Decatur, Georgia. Joe began his photographic career as an adventure and landscape photographer, but a month-long trip to India in 2009 deeply impacted him and proved to be a turning point in his life and photographic vision. Today, Joe is dedicated to using his craft to create and share compelling images and stories of the lives of the peoples and cultures of the world. While Joe loves and appreciates all the peoples and cultures of the world, he has a particular vision, passion and love for India and South Asia. As both an experienced photographer, public speaker, recruiter and advocate, Joe's goal as a visual artist is not simply to create awareness, but to move people to use their lives and resources to be a blessing to the world's most poor, abused, displaced, stereotyped and overlooked peoples.

17 thoughts on “February 2012 Wallpaper and a Thinktank Photo Streetwalker giveaway!

  1. Because my wife would love me more if I could give it to her.

  2. It’s hard to say I need the bag because if I wrap my camera in a towel and stick it in my messenger bag it seems to be ok. However, it would be nice to have a camera bag that I could fit all of my camera equipment in properly and have a place for a tripod. It’s also nice to have a bag that isnt comber some when going out to take photos. Especially in the Arabian Pennensula God willing we get a job there. 🙂

  3. Wow! So do I “deserve” this bag?! Depends how you define “deserve.” If defined as to be worthy, FIT, or SUITABLE for then I would say YES, I am certainly deserving of this bag. A bag like this would be the perfect solution for me as I travel the globe with hopes to capture images powerful enough to move people to action! I have to admit, It certainly beats the fanny pack I have now…. Yes, a fanny pack! Should one with such an ambitious desire use a fanny pack?! I think not! Haha! Anyway, I guess what I’m really trying to say is that it would be quite righteous to have a shot at winning a bag like this and it would be put to good use.

  4. The older I get, the more challenging it becomes to deal with all the stuff we think we need to work. I”ve been downsizing stuff and trying to work with a minimum of gear. Except that now motion and sound are added to the mix. Now I need to simplify that end of it too. A bag that size would work well I think, for continuing to do what I’ve been called to do.
    But no, I don’t ‘deserve’ a gift because then it wouldn’t be a gift. It would be earned. But it’s nice to receive a blessing, almost as nice as the feeling that comes from blessing others.

  5. Wow, great bag, reallyl would love to use it. Also love the picture of the boats, beautiful.

  6. I was hesitant to post, because I can’t say that I think I “deserve it” 🙂 But I do love your pictures, and I get great joy out of giving the gift of photography to others, and anything that makes that easier is lovely. Not to mention, my favorite place to take school pictures (for the school I work at) is out in the woods, so that would be a great way to hike back and forth.
    Thanks for the opportunity Joe!

  7. Because I would give it to my husband, who’s a great photographer!

  8. Because I’m a student who works for a non-profit as a photographer and certainly can’t afford one on my own budget. 😉 But in reality, a nice sturdy bag to haul around your gear would sure be a blessing!

  9. Pingback: The clock is ticking! « The humanitarian and cultural photography of Atlanta-based assignment photographer Joe Murray

  10. I deserve a new Streetwalker Backpack because I need a new backpack that works as hard as I do and won’t start popping zippers when the going gets tough. I shoot professional motocross racing and there are times I’m climbing mountains with all my gear. I’ve tried a few other packs and they do not fit me or my gear very well. A Streetwalker would be a great companion to my Speedbelt and modular pouches and make my job easier while giving me peace of mind my gear is safe should I slip and fall walking back down the mountain.

Leave a Reply

